The Bookstore on the Beach by Brenda Novak | Blog Tour | Book Review 

I am delighted to join the blog tour for The Bookstore on the Beach by Brenda Novak today! My thanks to Harlequin Publishing for the invitation to join. I was gifted a copy of The Bookstore on the Beach to read in exchange for my honest review. 

Book Info and Rating       

The Bookstore on the Beach

by Brenda Novak

On Sale Date: April 6, 2021

9780778361053

Trade Paperback; $16.99 USD

448 pages

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars    💙💙💙💙💙    

For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Kay Andrews, comes New York Times bestselling author Brenda Novak’s newest standalone work of women’s fiction, a big, sweeping novel about family and the ties that bind and challenge us. In this novel, three generations of women from the same family share a house and work together at a bookstore in Colonial Beach over the course of a summer.

How do you start a new chapter when you haven’t closed the book on the last one?

Eighteen months ago, Autumn Divac’s husband went missing. Her desperate search has yielded no answers—she still has no idea where he went or why. After being happily married for twenty years, she can’t imagine moving forward without him, but for the sake of their two teenage children, she has to try.

Autumn takes her kids home for the summer to the charming beachside town where she was raised. She seeks comfort by working alongside her mother and aunt at their quaint bookshop, only to learn that her daughter is facing a life change neither of them saw coming and her mother has been hiding a terrible secret for years. And when she runs into Quinn Vanderbilt—the boy who stole her heart in high school—old feelings start to bubble up again. Is she free to love him, or should she hold out hope for her husband’s return? She can only trust her heart…and hope it won’t lead her astray.

I Thought…

Nick Divac has been missing for more than 18 months, and his wife, Autumn has been valiantly trying to cope with the situation at their home in Tampa, Florida. The couple has two teenage children, daughter Taylor, age 17, and son Caden, 16. Nick was thought to be working on a mission for the FBI in the Ukraine but never returned from his assignment. When the official investigation ended, Autumn hired a private investigator, Mr Olynyk, based overseas, but even he could not supply any information about Nick’s location. Stressed out and looking for a change of scenery, Autumn and her children head to her mother, Mary Langford’s beach house in Sable Beach, Virginia for the summer, the place where Autumn grew up.

This family drama tells the stories of three women, the problems they face and the secrets they harbour. Aside from Autumn, Mary has to overcome a life-changing situation that has affected her outlook on life. Mary runs a bookshop, Beach Front Books, along with Autumn’s Aunt Laurie and they both have a 50/50 share. Taylor, too, has some serious issues of her own to deal with.

Brenda Novak’s character portrayal was exceptional although I had been excepting nothing less! Autumn reconnects with her first love, Quinn and has to make some hard decisions about her future. Meanwhile, Taylor is all at sea; the disappearance of her much-loved father left her feeling emotionally adrift and she committed a regrettable and undoable act. A new friend both helps and further complicates her inner turmoil.

The author masterfully weaves the characters experiences and backstories into a marvellous, heartwarming tale, delivered with aplomb. So many different themes and topics are explored and touched upon in this splendid tale of family and relationships, including grief, loss, and mental health issues but also of hope, optimism and choice.

The Bookstore on the Beach is a satisfying and rewarding reading experience from the beginning to its intense ending.

Thanks to NetGalley, MIRA and the author, Brenda Novak for the complimentary copy. This is my honest and totally voluntary review.

Meet the Author:

Brenda Novak, a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, has penned over sixty novels. She is a five-time nominee for the RITA Award and has won the National Reader’s Choice, the Bookseller’s Best, the Bookbuyer’s Best, and many other awards. She also runs Brenda Novak for the Cure, a charity to raise money for diabetes research (her youngest son has this disease). To date, she’s raised $2.5 million. For more about Brenda, please visit http://www.brendanovak.com.

Author Links:
Website  ~ Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Instagram ~ Goodreads

Purchase Links:

Bookshop.org – IndieBound – Barnes & Noble – Books a Million – Amazon – Indigo – Book Depository – Walmart – Target

Until Next Time, 

One thought on “The Bookstore on the Beach by Brenda Novak | Blog Tour | Book Review 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.