Beyond Farwin Wood by Drea Damara | Review

About The Book

For fans of The Princess Bride and Stardust

Anything Can Happen on Blinney Lane.

Agatha Blinney’s curse is unleashed when Franci Doltman dresses up as her favourite movie star. Now the store-owners on Blinney Lane must rally together to save Franci before the possession claims her forever.

Valerie Millville is tired of her controlling mother, disappointing men, and being misunderstood. Determined to escape her life on Blinney Lane, she and troublemaker Ricky Allister volunteer to find a cure by venturing inside one of the cursed weeping books.

From mythical lands to peculiar allies to other worldly creatures, Valerie learns not all stories are written in stone—or even in one dimension. Can she and Ricky save Franci in time or will their friend become another casualty of the curse that binds Blinney Lane? Will Farwin Wood show them secrets undiscovered or are mysteries merely in the eye of the beholder? Get ready for an adventure that will transport you into the pages of a fantasy world beyond reality.

My Thoughts

This book “Beyond Farwin Wood” is the second novel in this series – ‘The Blinney Lane Books.’ I was really impressed with this novel, although I have not read very many books from this genre, nor I have read, the first book, entitled ‘The Weeping Books of Blinney Lane.’

Drea Damara’s creative skill in writing showed as this super, imaginative, tale of fantasy and adventure flowed well from the start, even when the story was moving between the different worlds.

The story mainly concentrated on Valerie, Franci, Ricky and Ranthrop, though their family and friends from Blinney Lane also feature in the tale.

The characters were colourful and so well drawn, building in part, from those in the first book, but also focusing on a number of different ones. I particularly liked Drea Damara’s portrayal of Valerie who was so free-spirited, independent and single-minded.

The plot was very well executed and didn’t feel forced or overdone. I was impressed that the story was good as a stand-alone read. The clever story-telling was so absorbing that I found myself not wanting to reach the end of the book, even though I needed to find out what was going to happen with the characters that I had started to get to know.

I would recommend this captivating and absorbing tale of adventure and I hope that the author, Drea Damara, is writing more in the ‘Blinney Lane’ series.  

*[Thanks to BHC Press and the author, Drea Damara, for my free ARC of Beyond Farwin Wood in exchange for an honest review.]

Brianne’s Book Reviews Rating | Four Stars

Happy Reading!

Advertisements

The Sisters’ Secrets: Reen by Katlyn Duncan | Review

Book Synopsis

The truth will always rise to the surface…

When Reen left The Burrow eight years ago, she had no intention of returning to her idyllic seaside hometown. Withdrawn and isolated from her family after the tragic death of her father, there was no reason to stay.

But when her sister, Rose, reaches out with news about their mother she has no choice but to go back.

Forced to confront her demons she runs into her childhood sweetheart, Brody, who still sends her heart into a flutter. But can Reen finally learn let go of the past and find the happiness she truly deserves?

Readers love Katlyn Duncan:

‘Gripping. Thrilling. On the edge of your seat exciting. I absolutely loved it.’

‘I will definitely be reading more from this author again.’

‘Engaging and Thought Provoking’

‘This story kept me guessing.’

‘Perfect for someone who wants a quick read that’s also gripping’

‘I was completely glued from page one and didn’t want to put it down’

My Thoughts

This is the second book in a series entitled ‘The Sisters’ Secrets.’ The first one is called ‘The Sisters’ Secrets: Rose’, which I haven’t read, though, whilst not ideal, I don’t think it matters that much if they are read out of sequence. It was still a great book for me and worked fine as a stand-alone read.

The Sisters’ Secrets: Reen has all the required ingredients that make a really fantastic story in its genre: from the mood and undercurrents to the good writing and the experience of love and friendship, not forgetting the feelings of hope and moving on from the past.

There is plenty of romance in this thought-provoking story and lots of lighter moments, but this is not lightweight paranormal dross. It examines issues around family and relationships as well as bereavement and loss.

I recommend this very engaging, if a little short, read to those with a fondness for the Romance and Women’s Fiction genres. There are more secrets to be revealed in the next book of the series ‘The Sisters’ Secrets: Pearl’ and I will be reading that book, too!  

Thanks to NetGalley, HQ Digital and the author, Katlyn Duncan for my free ARC of The Sisters’ Secrets: Reen in exchange for an honest review.

#NetGalley #TheSistersSecretsReen

Brianne’s Book Reviews Rating | Four Stars

Happy Reading!