Beyond Farwin Wood by Drea Damara | Review

About The Book

For fans of The Princess Bride and Stardust

Anything Can Happen on Blinney Lane.

Agatha Blinney’s curse is unleashed when Franci Doltman dresses up as her favourite movie star. Now the store-owners on Blinney Lane must rally together to save Franci before the possession claims her forever.

Valerie Millville is tired of her controlling mother, disappointing men, and being misunderstood. Determined to escape her life on Blinney Lane, she and troublemaker Ricky Allister volunteer to find a cure by venturing inside one of the cursed weeping books.

From mythical lands to peculiar allies to other worldly creatures, Valerie learns not all stories are written in stone—or even in one dimension. Can she and Ricky save Franci in time or will their friend become another casualty of the curse that binds Blinney Lane? Will Farwin Wood show them secrets undiscovered or are mysteries merely in the eye of the beholder? Get ready for an adventure that will transport you into the pages of a fantasy world beyond reality.

My Thoughts

This book “Beyond Farwin Wood” is the second novel in this series – ‘The Blinney Lane Books.’ I was really impressed with this novel, although I have not read very many books from this genre, nor I have read, the first book, entitled ‘The Weeping Books of Blinney Lane.’

Drea Damara’s creative skill in writing showed as this super, imaginative, tale of fantasy and adventure flowed well from the start, even when the story was moving between the different worlds.

The story mainly concentrated on Valerie, Franci, Ricky and Ranthrop, though their family and friends from Blinney Lane also feature in the tale.

The characters were colourful and so well drawn, building in part, from those in the first book, but also focusing on a number of different ones. I particularly liked Drea Damara’s portrayal of Valerie who was so free-spirited, independent and single-minded.

The plot was very well executed and didn’t feel forced or overdone. I was impressed that the story was good as a stand-alone read. The clever story-telling was so absorbing that I found myself not wanting to reach the end of the book, even though I needed to find out what was going to happen with the characters that I had started to get to know.

I would recommend this captivating and absorbing tale of adventure and I hope that the author, Drea Damara, is writing more in the ‘Blinney Lane’ series.  

*[Thanks to BHC Press and the author, Drea Damara, for my free ARC of Beyond Farwin Wood in exchange for an honest review.]

Brianne’s Book Reviews Rating | Four Stars

Happy Reading!

Advertisements
Potency

Potency by Aubrey Hadley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


The beautiful front cover and compelling premise lured me into choosing to read “Glow : Book I, Potency” by Aubrey Hadley, a book about apocalypse and alienation.

The Maasai Mara Sleeping Syndrome has appeared in New York, and it has wiped out an entire homeless shelter.

The same night of the outbreak, Harper, a seventeen-year-old girl, stumbles across a glowing figure in the desert outskirts of her neighbourhood. As her suburb goes on lock-down, Harper finds herself isolated from her friends and family, and soon begins to suspect that the events – though thousands of miles apart – may have something in common. Harper must find her bravery and embark on a plot-twisting adventure that will have her looking for answers in unexpected places and different worlds.

Although this book is not from one of my normally preferred genres and it is a longer read than I normally choose, it was still a really enjoyable novel. I can’t say that I’ve ever read anything exactly like it, or even similar. If you are into vampires or spectres then this isn’t for you. It’s just something totally innovative and fresh and that is why I liked it.

The main characters, whilst not necessarily particularly likeable, were a good fit for the story. As for the ending, I usually prefer one that is a little more definitive, unless it is meant to be a cliffhanger.

Overall, whilst it wasn’t one of my best-ever reads, I would recommend this book by Aubrey Hadley. I am guessing that there will be a sequel to “Glow : Book I, Potency,” so I will look out for it.

[Thanks to #NetGalley and the publisher, Ruby and Topaz, for a free ARC of #Glow in exchange for an honest review.]



View all my reviews