The Girl He Used to Know by Tracey Garvis Graves | Review

About the Book

‘The most riveting, rewarding, refreshing novel I’ve read in years’ – Barbara Delinsky, bestselling author

What if you had a second chance at first love?

Annika Rose likes being alone. She feels lost in social situations, saying the wrong thing or acting the wrong way. She just can’t read people. She prefers the quiet solitude of books or playing chess to being around others. Apart from Jonathan. She liked being around him, but she hasn’t seen him for ten years. Until now that is. And she’s not sure he’ll want to see her again after what happened all those years ago.

Annika Rose likes being alone. Except that, actually, she doesn’t like being alone at all.

The Girl He Used to Know is an uplifting novel full of surprising revelations that keep you turning the page. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Gail Honeyman, Jill Santopolo and Sliding Doors.

‘Tracey Garvis Graves has crafted an incredible story with a unique premise and characters… this book is beautiful.’ – Colleen Hoover, #1 New York Times bestselling author of It Ends with Us

‘I adore Tracey Garvis Graves’ work.’ – Sarah Pekkanen, best-selling co-author of The Wife Between Us

My Thoughts

Tracey Garvis Graves has totally astounded me with this evocative and emotional story. I haven’t read any of the other books by this author and so I had no real expectations other than the reviews I had seen and the plot synopsis. I was not prepared for the emotional suffering this book inflicted on my heart!

“The Girl He Used To Know” was one of the best love stories I have read for some time that had me enthralled from the start.

One of the things that made this book special was Annika Rose. As the main character, she was so easy to relate and warm to. I could completely identify with her social awkwardness and her many other issues – from being unsure of what those around her were thinking, to the constant need to scrutinise other people and copy their behaviour in an effort to fit in and be accepted as normal.

For his part, I loved Jonathan’s level of patience and understanding. He put others’ expectations aside even though he didn’t know how he could help Annika.

Tracey Garvis Graves created a set of characters with such complexity and depth, helping to make this love story quite special. There are so many books in this genre that, inevitably, comparisons will be drawn, however, this was a totally and fabulously unique story for me.

The book is told from the point of view of both Annika and Jonathan, going back and forth between their time in college and the present. As Annika and Jonathan alternately tell their respective stories, the reader gets to know more about the two of them and the events that caused their separation. The reader then comes to understand Annika’s problems, how she has been able to overcome them and how they have both developed as individuals.

Even though there were instances when this was a difficult read for me, I loved where Tracey Garvis Graves took her story, right through to its conclusion.

I know I have found another author to add to my ever-growing list of favourites. I thoroughly recommend this book as it is definitely worth a read.

I received a complimentary digital copy of this novel, at my own request, from Orion Publishing via NetGalley. This review is my own unbiased opinion.

Brianne’s Book Reviews Rating | Five Stars

Happy Reading!

Advertisements
The Fifteen Wonders of Daniel Green

The Fifteen Wonders of Daniel Green by Erica Boyce

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


This was such a great, unusual read! I hadn’t known what to expect from this novel but I know that I loved its title and the alluring front cover, both of which caught my attention.

This sweet and engaging story begins with Daniel Green who has a fascination with crop circles. He, along with other members of a secret organization, travels across the country creating strange works of art that leave communities mystified. But when a dying farmer hires him in a last-ditch effort to bring publicity to a small Vermont town, loner Daniel finds himself at odds with his heart. It isn’t long before he gets drawn into a family struggling to stitch itself back together, and the consequences change his life forever.

“The Fifteen Wonders of Daniel Green” by Erica Boyce explores the unexplainable bonds of family, the everyday wonder of love, and the strange mysteries life provides that help humanity light up the dark.

The story is told through multiple viewpoints and peppered with characters’ back-stories. The characters themselves were richly portrayed and the way that their stories were interwoven was a credit to this début author. There were moments of difficulties in the tale when I felt close to most of them, however, for me, there was no recognisable plot to the story, as such. Even so, I still very much enjoyed the novel and I was interested to see whether the crop circle would be finished.

The ending was both fulfilling and satisfying. Overall, this was a great read for me and one that I would definitely recommend, especially if you are looking for something a little different!

{Thank you to #NetGalley and Sourcebooks Landmark for the free copy of #Fifteenwondersofdanielgreen and for giving me the opportunity to provide an honest review.}



View all my reviews

The Rosie Result (Don Tillman, #3)

The Rosie Result by Graeme Simsion

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


This is the third in a series of books written by the author, Graeme Simsion. I must confess that I haven’t read either of the previous two novels,‘The Rosie Project’ or ‘The Rosie Effect’, however, this – “The Rosie Result” – proved to be a fantastic read. Whilst I may well have benefited from reading the other two first, for me, it worked fine as a stand-alone story.

Don Tillman is a genetics professor with a scientific approach to everything. However, he’s about to face a set of human dilemmas tougher than the trickiest of equations…

Graeme Simsion’s portrayal of Don was exceptional with regard to his autistic tendencies and higher than average intelligence. There are many wry and witty moments, however, there is very little in this novel about Rosie’s personality.

This humorous tale about living with autism was a great and hilarious read with lots of special moments and touching scenes. It is particularly poignant if you know anyone with autism, as you’ll certainly recognise some of the scenarios!

Having read and enjoyed “The Rosie Result” I will make sure to get to the other books in the series.

{Thank you to #NetGalley and Penguin UK/ Michael Joseph for the free copy of #TheRosieResult and for giving me the opportunity to provide an honest review.}



View all my reviews