The Little Book Café by Georgia Hill | Review

About The Book

Amy’s Story

Escape to the seaside for a new three-part series for fans of The Canal Boat Cafe and Willow Cottage

Amy, the manager of The Little Book Café, is a hopeless romantic who had her heart broken, but quietly refuses to give up on love.

With her friends Tash and Emma, not to mention their shared love of books and delicious cake from the café next door, Amy might just find the courage to fall for a real life romance this time…

Amy’s Story is the final instalment of The Little Book Café series so wrap up warm this Autumn and treasure this wonderful book.

My Thoughts

Author, Georgia Hill, has written another wonderful, sweet romance about life in Berecombe. Although I have not read the first two books in this series, I have read another of her fantastic books: ‘Millie Vanilla’s Cupcake Café’ so I was expecting great things from this one. The first book was ‘The Little Book Café: Tash’s Story’, followed by ‘The Little Book Café: Emma’s Story’.

This was an easy, light read so I did not feel disadvantaged in any way not having read books one and two first, though it would have been preferable to me if I had read them in their intended sequence. 

Any book, either set in a bookshop or a café, will be of special interest to me, as was this one, with the added touch of a lovely book cover!

“The Little Book Café” is a feel-good story of romance, friendship and community spirit, but also angst and upset, set in Berecombe, a quaint seaside town in Devon, England. Most of the drama takes place in the bookshop/cafe where Amy, the protagonist, is the manager.

Georgia Hill has drawn some very likeable characters in this novella. Amy is very endearing, trustworthy and dependable, although a little lacking in self-esteem and I adored the touches of humour that added some interest to the story.

Georgia Hill’s writing style is really engaging and it was a good read particularly for the interplay of the different characters – the close friends, the bossy mother, the famous author and the stream of local towns-folk. With plenty of ups and downs along the way, I loved it!

Although the conclusion of the story was no great surprise, it was still a very fulfilling ending to a wonderful book that regularly had me laughing-out-loud and was, all-in-all, a very worthwhile and well-balanced read. This book was a perfect accompaniment to a large slice of chocolate cake and a cup of tea!

Thanks to NetGalley, HarperImpulse and the author, Georgia Hill, for my free ARC of The Little Book Café in exchange for an honest review.

#NetGalley #TheLittleBookCafé

Brianne’s Book Reviews Rating | Five Stars

Amazon links to the first two books in the series

h

Happy Reading!

Advertisements
Mother's Day Mayhem (Tourist Trap Mystery Series, #6.5)

Mother’s Day Mayhem by Lynn Cahoon

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


“Mother’s Day Mayhem” by Lynn Cahoon is a lovely, short read – a perfect novella with which to settle down on the sofa on a cold and windy afternoon, along with a mug of steaming hot chocolate!

Part of best-selling author, Lynn Cahoon’s, ‘Tourist Trap Mystery’ series, this is the first story I have read and I delighted in this easy-to-read novella. Although I’m sure the books would be best read in sequence, it was easy enough to follow the story and make the connections between the different characters. I didn’t particularly have a favourite in this book though I found I could really relate to Jill Gardner, the owner of ‘Coffee, Books, and More.’

Although there was no dead body in the story, there were some fun moments and plenty of mothers and it was wonderful getting to meet all of the other characters!

This was a charming little story and I will be reading more from this series in the future.

{Thank you to #NetGalley and Kensington Books for the free copy of #MothersDayMayhem and for giving me the opportunity to provide an honest review.}



View all my reviews